

Announcing the 2022 Soundmerch AMP recipient, King Stingray with their debut album *'King Stingray'*



King Stingray's Dimathaya Burarrwanga & Roy Kellaway at The 18th Soundmerch Australian Music Prize Photo credit: @vasilipapathanasopoulos

Australia's most prestigious music accolade, the **Soundmerch Australian Music Prize** has today been awarded to **King Stingray** for their self-titled 2022 album, *King Stingray*, released via Cooking Vinyl Australia.

Taking home **\$30,000 cash** thanks to Soundmerch, King Stingray's acclaimed record joins the highly esteemed list of previous award-winning albums, including last year's *Smiling With No Teeth* by **Genesis Owusu** and 2020's *We Will Always Love You* by **The Avalanches**. The Soundmerch AMP was presented to King Stingray by AMP judges **Sose Fuamoli** and **Maia Bilyk** alongside Soundmerch owner **Tim Everist**, at the 18th annual ceremony held in **Sydney's Oxford Art Factory** this evening.

King Stingray's Roy Kellaway and Dimathaya Burarrwanga flew into Sydney to attend the event and accept the prize.

"We're so unbelievably stoked to have won the 18th AMP. We had so much fun making this record and we just hope that listeners can hear the joy that we had making it, as well as feel the joy for themselves. It really means the world to us to hear people enjoying the album and we have so many people to thank: our manager Stu; our family who support us all the way; the Yirrkala and Nhulunbuy community; Kris Keough; Casey from Select Music; our publicist Bec from Deathproof; Dan, Craig and Damo from Sony Music Publishing; Jack, Leigh and Stu from Cooking Vinyl Australia. And of course, a massive thanks to all the judges of The AMP. The list goes on! Thanks everyone! Rock on!" – King Stingray

King Stingray is the debut studio album from the Australian (Northeast Arnhem Land) rock group, *King Stingray.* Produced by band member Roy Kellaway with all 10 tracks written by Kellaway and fellow member **Yirrŋa Yunupiŋu**. The band describe their sound as "*Yolŋu surf rock*", and perform songs with lyrics in both English and Yolŋu Matha.

The album was released on 5 August 2022 and debuted at **number 6 on the ARIA Charts**. At the **2022 ARIA Music Awards**, the album was **nominated for Album of the Year**, **Best Group**, **Best Rock Album**, **Best Cover Art** and **won the Breakthrough Artist award**. The album was **nominated for Australian Album of the Year at the J Awards**.

As always, **The Soundmerch AMP** continues to rise above genre, popularity, politics and sales, to focus entirely on artistic merit. *King Stingray* was chosen from a massive **490 eligible 2022 releases**, of which the judges chose **98 as official nominations**, and then carefully deliberated on a **shortlist of the top 9 albums of the year**.

Thanks and congratulations must be showered upon the 18th judging panel - a diverse judging panel of **over 30 industry experts**, including artists, radio presenters, music writers and music retailers, King Stingray's LP spearheaded an absolutely stellar list of high-calibre releases that reflect the diversity and strength of the Australian music landscape.

"When we appoint judges we don't tell them how to judge, or what we're looking for. We simply say that this prize is about the album format (so don't base your judgement on 1, 2 or 3 tracks) and that originality is the number one consideration. King Stingray - the band - are wonderfully original and their 2022, debut album certainly tells us this. Well done King Stingray and your support team." – Scott Murphy, AMP Founder/Director

King Stingray by King Stingray was chosen as the winning album of The 18th Soundmerch AMP from a Shortlist of 9 albums – the other 8 in contention were: Foreign Language by 1300; Everything Is
Dangerous But Nothing's Surprising by Body Type; Running With The Hurricane by Camp Cope; Pre Pleasure by Julia Jacklin; Amateurs by Laura Jean; The Real Work by Party Dozen; As Above, So Below by Sampa The Great; A Colour Undone by Tasman Keith.

"King Stingray's debut album didn't jump out at me immediately, unlike some of the other records on what is an incredible shortlist of nine. Over time, I began to admire the beauty, joy and deft instrumental manoeuvres; a record full of bloody gorgeous arrangements! Turns out, I AM a sucker for a debut — it's my favourite album of the crop." - Phil Jamieson

The AMP wishes to thank major sponsor, **Soundmerch** for their generous contribution to fund the coveted prize, as well as long-term champions, **APRA AMCOS**, **Mushroom Group**, **PPCA**, **Inertia**, **Sony Music**, **Universal Music AU**, **EMI**, **Virgin Music AU**, **Island Records**, **MGM**, **Sony Music Publishing**, **Warner Music** and **Brett Oaten Solicitors**. New partners on board in 2022 were **The ACE Hotel**, **Sydney** and the **Oxford Art Factory**.

The prize continues to exist in order to discover, reward and promote new Australian music of excellence.

THE 18th SOUNDMERCH AMP RECIPIENT:



KING STINGRAY

PREVIOUS AUSTRALIAN MUSIC PRIZE RECIPIENTS

2021 - Genesis Owusu - Smiling With No Teeth

2020 - The Avalanches - We Will Always Love You 2019 - Sampa the Great - The Return 2018 - Gurrumul - Djarimirri 2017 - Sampa the Great, Birds and the BEE9 2016 - A.B. Original - Reclaim Australia 2015 - Courtney Barnett - Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit 2014 - REMI - Raw X Infinity 2013 - Big Scary, Not Art 2012 - Hermitude, HyperParadise 2011 - The Jezabels, Prisoner 2010 - Cloud Control, Bliss Release 2009 - Lisa Mitchel, Wonder 2008 - Eddy Current Suppression Ring, Primary Colours 2007 - The Mess Hall, Devils Elbow 2006 - Augie March, Moo, You Bloody Choir 2005 - The Drones, Wait Long by the River and the Bodies of Your Enemies Will Float By

For more information: www.australianmusicprize.com.au



Maia Bilyk

Mikey Cahill

Tim Daley

Andrew Drever

Dan Gordon

Alex Gow

Michael

Hohnen

FOUNDER / PRIZE DIRECTOR: SCOTT B. MURPHY scott@australianmusicprize.com.au THE SOUNDMERCH AMP 2022 IS PROUDLY SUPPORTED BY: Ace Hotel Sydney APRA 💫 INERTIA ishr@m EMI AMCOS SONY MUSIC PUBLISHING SONY MUSIC **18TH SOUNDMERCH AMP JUDGES** Sose Fuamoli Brent Griffin Chris Holland Georgia Sallybanks Cassie Walker Britt Aylen Kate Casey Martha Marlow Bryget Chrisfield **Reg Harris** Steve Bell Chris Gill Phil Jamieson Abbe May Annika Schmarsel Simon Winkler Chris Berkley Taylah Strano Aeron Clark Mike Glynn Laura Hill Fanny Lumsden Rory McDougall Bernard Zuel

Emmy Mack

James Mangohig

Pat Monaghan

Zoe Radas

Jeb Taylor

Henry Wagons