

# THE SOUNDMERCH AMP RETURNS FOR 18TH YEAR

## Winner's event announced March 1st at Sydney's Oxford Art Factory

### ++ 7 New Nominations for 2022 Prize

View the running list of 2022 Album Nominations HERE



2022 is the 18<sup>th</sup> consecutive year of The Australian Music Prize and is again sponsored by Melbourne-based <u>SoundMerch</u> – **The SoundMerch AMP**.

The winning artist of this prize receives \$30,000 cash - courtesy of SoundMerch.

The 17<sup>th</sup> SoundMerch AMP announced its winner back in March – the acclaimed album 'Smiling With No Teeth' by Genesis Owusu.

"It means a lot that there are initiatives like the AMP that look to platform and support art purely on artistic merit, rather than any other surrounding factors. The fact that they show their support financially is not only rewarding, but crucial in a post-COVID world, and has personally helped my career as I continue to tour and make more music." – Genesis Owusu

As usual, the panel of expert, industry judges has been revised this year and features new additions such as artists James Mangohig (TZU) and Henry Wagons (Wagons) – plus, from the media, Reg Harris (FBi Radio) and Taylah Strano (Radio 6RTR). The revised panel also features three artists who had Shortlisted albums in the 17<sup>th</sup> prize – Odette, Rory McDougall (The Putbacks) and Martha Marlow.

**Martha Marlow** said "The Australian Music Prize is a great and necessary recognition of Australian artists and their work. It showcases the diversity of the Australian music industry and plays a crucial role in supporting our Australian musical artists."

A full list of the judges of The 18<sup>th</sup> SoundMerch AMP can be found here.

#### THE PRIZE RETURNS TO SYDNEY!

After many years of announcement events in Melbourne, The 18<sup>th</sup> SoundMerch AMP will return to Sydney for its winner's announcement event on March 1<sup>st</sup>, 2023.

"The 18<sup>th</sup> announcement event will be larger than normal with previous judges and winning artists encouraged to attend – along with the next 9 Shortlisted artists, music media, our partners and industry friends – with thanks to the good folk at the Oxford Art Factory," said AMP

Founder/Director, Scott B. Murphy.

#### **OFFICIAL NOMINATIONS – 2022 ELIGIBLE ALBUMS**

The judges have been 'listening hard' since June this year – to all eligible Australian artist albums released from 01.01.22 – and will continue to do so until the last album of 2022 is released.

More than 400 eligible albums have been considered so far, with the judges reaching a list of 50 nominated albums in contention to form the Shortlist (9 finalist albums).

#### Announced today:

'Blood Moon' by RY X

'Deity' by Emma Volard

'Isola' by Laurence Pike | Cameron Deyell

'I'm Gonna Die With This Frown On My Face' by Ruby Gill

'How To Grow A Sunflower Underwater' by Alex The Astronaut

'Pre Pleasure' by Julia Jacklin

'Personal Hotspot' by Ferla

These 7 albums join 43 other albums previously announced via the prize's Instagram page – albums by artists including Midnight Oil, Parkway Drive, King Stingray, Camp Cope, Party Dozen, Grace Cummings and more.

On being nominated, Grace Cummings commented "It's nice to be considered for an award like this alongside so many outstanding Australian musicians. It's been a tough and trying couple of years and yet a hugely productive time for music. I am proud to be amongst all of those nominated."

For the complete list of Official 2022 Nominations, visit The SoundMerch AMP website. (Please note that there will be additions to the list up until 31.12.22)

If you've released an eligible album in 2022 (or will be doing so) and want to ensure our judges hear it – firstly check it's eligible, then if so let us know the details via this form.

The Shortlist (9 finalist albums) of The 18<sup>th</sup> SoundMerch AMP will be announced early in 2023.



FOUNDER / PRIZE DIRECTOR: SCOTT B. MURPHY scott@australianmusicprize.com.au THE SOUNDMERCH AMP 2022 IS PROUDLY SUPPORTED BY:

























SONY MUSIC PUBLISHING









#### 18TH SOUNDMERCH AMP JUDGES

Britt Aylen Steve Bell Chris Berkley Maia Bilyk Mikey Cahill Kate Casey Bryget Chrisfield Aeron Clark Tim Daley Andrew Drever Sose Fuamoli Chris Gill Mikey Glynn Dan Gordon Alex Gow

Brent Griffin Reg Harris Laura Hill Michael Hohnen Chris Holland Phil Jamieson Fanny Lumsden Emmy Mack James Mangohig

Martha Marlow Abbe May Rory McDougall Pat Monaghan Zoe Radas Georgia Sallybanks Annika Schmarsel Taylah Strano Jeb Taylor Henry Wagons Cassie Walker Simon Winkler Bernard Zuel